Anonymous asked: I'm newly dx with Celiac, and I'm trying to understand. Some things say that Maltodextrin, dextrin and maltose are safe? And what about soy and soy lecithin?
According to “Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide” by Shelley Case, RD, maltose, dextrin, dextrose, maltodextrin, and modified food starch (except modified wheat starch) are all gluten-free (p44). Soy and soy lecithin are gluten-free; “soy sauce” is not gluten-free because it contains wheat. Here is more detailed information:
Maltodextrin: “can be derived from different starches such as corn, waxy maize, potato, rice, or wheat…If wheat is used it must be labeled ‘wheat maltodextrin’…Corn, waxy maize or potato are the most common sources in North America” (p52).
Dextrin: “Usually made from corn or tapioca, although occasionally it can be derived from wheat…If wheat is used in dextrin it must be declared as wheat dextrin or dextrin (wheat)” (p53).
I highly recommend this book if you’re interested in the details of food ingredients and manufacturing in the US and Canada.